Almost Ten

Posted: October 12, 2007 in Daily Blog

Yesterday my son came home from school with the main role in the 4th and 5th grade play! He was really excited, and it had been the talk around our house for about two weeks. Try outs were a while ago, and every day we got an update on the date the rolls would be announced. My wife and I weren’t sure if he would get the part considering all the people that were sure to try out for it, so we held our breath – until he came home yesterday with the great news! He will now be practicing lines and songs until we are all sick and tired of it, but what great news! I am very proud of him. I never would have had the guts to go out for a role in a play at that age, or any age for that matter. And not only that, but he didn’t just settle for a minor part… he went for the biggest part there was, go big or go home!

He is also starting indoor Lacrosse this month. He has never played, and my wife and I spent many hours discussing and debating the idea. I played Lacrosse in high school for a little while, and loved it. But it is so expensive to start! You have to buy all kinds of protective equipment, and then registration fees. It adds up in a hurry and my son has never expressed any interest in anything athletic until now – and it had to be Lacrosse! He doesn’t even really know what the goal is, just run around the field with sticks – which I guess to an almost ten year old boy would sound pretty cool!

So for nearly ten years it has been the same old’ same old’ at our house; Video games, Harry Potter books and movies, Action Figures that make lots of noise, and cartoons, the staple of all things boyish. Now he is moving on to bigger and greater adventure! It makes his parents a little nervous, and I am also a little envious. When was the last time I got out of my comfort zone to try something new, different, challenging and exciting? It has been a while.

All I know is he has a new lease on life; he is excited, passionate about these things, and cant wait to get started. We should all be so enthralled with something. I admire his courage, even in the face of others looking on. Maybe we should all take a lesson from a ten-year-old…

Step out and try,
Get excited about something new,
Give it your best shot,
Have fun and have high expectations!

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    That’s great news! Tell him that I send my congratulations and best wishes.

Leave a Reply

