Cinderella Dance

Posted: October 24, 2007 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , ,

Months ago, wow – last year even – I put this post up because it meant so much to me and my family.  I Have three girls, and they grow so fast.  As you know now, Maria, the little girl this was written about, has died.  We morn with the Chapman family from miles away, not even knowing them except through the music they bless us with.  The words below, and the lyrics to the song mean so much, and even more months later after this one’s life was cut so short.

 

I have a favorite artist named Steven Curtis Chapman. He just released a new project (this Moment) the day before yesterday, and I downloaded it as soon as I could. (I love itunes!) Anyway, there is a song on the project called Cinderella that I have to share with you. You can go to itunes and type his name or the title in and listen to the first 30 seconds for free, but I will type in the words for you below…

Cinderella

She spins and she sways
To whatever song plays
Without a care in the world
And I’m sitting here wearing
The weight of the world on my shoulders

It’s been a long day
And there’s still work to do
She’s pulling at me saying, “dad I need you
There’s a ball at the castle and I’ve been invited
And I need to practice my dancing
Oh please, daddy please

So I will dance with Cinderella cinderella.jpg
While she is here in my arms
‘cause I know something
the prince never knew
oh, I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘cause all too soon the
clock will strike midnight
and she’ll be gone…

she says he’s a nice guy
and I’d be impressed
she wants to know if I approve of the dress
she says, “dad the prom is just one week away
and I need to practice my dancing
oh please, daddy please

So I will dance with Cinderella
While she is here in my arms
‘cause I know something
the prince never knew
oh, I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘cause all too soon the
clock will strike midnight
and she’ll be gone

Well, she came home today
With a ring on her hand
Just glowing and telling us
All they had planned
She says, “dad the wedding’s still six months away
But in need to practice my dancing
Oh please, daddy please

So I will dance with Cinderella
While she is here in my arms
‘cause I know something
the prince never knew
oh, I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘cause all too soon the
clock will strike midnight
and she’ll be gone (SCC 2007 Sparrow Song)

If you have daughters you are probably all teary eyed at this point, so make sure before midnight you dance with your Cinderella… I know I will dance with mine!

Comments
  1. i can’t reply to this. if i did the world would see me for the cynical person i really am. but let’s just say this song rates up there with butterfly kisses and that stupid house slipper song… i probably shouldn’t hit submit…

  2. wineymomma says:

    How about ALyssa Lies and My Little Girl….
    There are so many to choose from…BLECH!!!!!

    Dee

  3. wineymomma says:

    Okay so what I really meant to say is that this is a wonderful example of song writing. Since I haven’t heard it yet I can’t comment on the arrangement but I really, really, really do like Steven Curtis Chapman. Really! I just don’t do this kind of wear your emotions out on your sleeve thing very well. Many of you know why and that I am working on this. Really. I do have a beautiful lovely wonderful daughter who actually prefers sleeping beauty. I often sit and play whatever miniature version of real life she is playing and I love to dance with both my prince and princess. I have been trying to live just for today with them because I know it is all too short!

  4. missingdad says:

    Just wanted to give a perspective from the other side of the coin!!!
    I loved to dance with my Dad. He taught me when I was a little girl and I took every opportunity to say yes when he would smile and say ‘wanna dance?’!!! He has been gone now for three years and I would like nothing more than to have one last dance. He died at the age of 55 from a brain tumor. My only wish is that he could have been here long enough to teach my little girl to dance. I do know however that one day I will dance with him again.
    One more thing- Dancing with the Angels by Monk & Neagle is another favorite of mine.

  5. Graham says:

    Thank you “Missing Dad” for your comments! It is great to hear how a man has impacted his family in such a great way! It sounds like he left quite a legacy in your life. Be thankful for that and encourge all the men you know to do the same in the lives of their families!

  6. Chelsea says:

    Just wanted to say that I love love love this song and I’m using it for my dad/daughter dance at my wedding. Help You Find Your Wings by Mark Harris is another sweet song. I’m dancing with my stepdad at my wedding to it.

  7. Graham says:

    I appreciate your comments Chelsea, and thank you for leaving one. I hope your wedding goes well, and that your dance with your father is super special… it will probably be killing him since you are his cinderella!

    All of you others that are checking out this post, please let us know how this song has touched you or what you are using it for!

  8. Nicole says:

    I’m another daughter, and I just want to say that this song made me cry. Because I know that i will not always have my Daddy to fall back on, to defend me when I’m in trouble. I’m Daddy’s Little Girl, or I used to be, lately I haven’t been but at my Uncle’s wedding in November whenever he asked me to dance I took the chance, before I hadn’t, and now he’s growing older, and I’m taking every opportunity I get. And if there is a dad out there who’s daughter won’t dance with him, keep asking eventually she’ll come around.
    A really sweet song that made me cry was ‘Loved Her First’ by Heartland.

  9. Cathy says:

    I really like this song. I heard it on the radio just today, for probably the 20th time.
    I lost my dear father when I was 11; he was 52. I used to think that was pretty old, but now I’m 45, and just hoping to make it to the fifties!
    I miss my father SO much. He was always the one I could talk to. I don’t know how different things might have been if he had been there during my teenage and young adult years, but I know I made a LOT of mistakes I might not have made if he had been there to talk to.
    Sound like an excuse, but sometimes I wonder. He always told me he was proud of me, when I tried my best. Even if I didn’t come in first in the spelling bee; even if I didn’t make all straight A’s, or missed hitting a home run by 2 inches. He always encouraged me to try my best, and to keep trying, to never give up on myself.
    I pretty much did give up on myself after he was gone. I got into drinking and drugs the first year I was a teenager. You can imagine how downhill things went from there.
    But life is too short to regret everything. I still have memories of him and the things he said to me. One thing he said, shortly before he died, was that, “You’ll NEVER be too old to give your father a hug.”
    Even if he’s not here for me to physically hug, I can still acknowledge all the love he gave me, and try to give a little of it back by loving myself.
    Sometimes I wonder if he would still love me as much now as he did then.
    Then I hear songs like this and it helps me believe that maybe he would. I just wish I knew… for sure.
    I guess you just have to have faith.
    Like having faith in God.
    I have to believe that God will forgive me and still love me if I am truly sorry for my sins and try to repent and not make the same decisions I made before.
    What verse is it that asks, “If a child asks their father for something to eat, would he give her a stone?. No, he would give her something to eat. In the same way, our Father in heaven will give us what we need if we humbly ask Him.” (para-phrased)

  10. Graham says:

    You know you Heavenly Father loves you, and it sounds like you are in a good place now.. the verses you are looking for are…

    Matthew 7:8-10 (New International Version)

    8For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

    9″Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?

  11. Keith says:

    My wife gave me this song. I am an intervention teacher and I deal with many troubled kids from 7 to 12th grade. It is so easy to get caught up in my job in dealing with these kids, that I can forget about my own.

    I have a Cinderella and she is growing so fast. Knowing about Stevens daughter and hearing this song makes it very hard to no feel guilty. At 3 1/2 she always forgives me and I thank God for her. I don’t ever want to loose her and cannot imagin loosing a child. My families prayers are with the Chapmans.

  12. […] highlight of the show: my youngest daughter holding my hand during SCC’s Cinderella!  It was very touching, and I nearly lost it.  I was a little surprised she even wanted to hold […]

  13. Grace Shyko says:

    This song is just amazing. I have never had a dance with my dad but i hope we’ll dance to this tune on my wedding day.it just turns me all mushy inside. It is just soooh sweet.

Leave a Reply

