730 Days

Posted: October 31, 2007 in Daily Blog

I was surprised to learn that today marks the two-year anniversary of my last day serving the church I started ministry in. It is a great church in Colorado Springs, and I loved that church. My wife and I attended that church for many years before going on staff there, so it is like our “home” church. I read in my journal today that on this day in 2005 this was my last day as children’s pastor in that church, it kind of caught me off guard. I like to see what was going on in my life from years back, so I look at what I have previously written from past years. I was not expecting to see this particular note, and it brought back a lot of memories and allowed me to see huge lessons I have learned over the past 730 days. I was leaving my first church ministry job because I had taken a job at a large church in Texas. It was big and prestigious, and I just knew God was rewarding me for all my hard work and faithfulness. I was wrong. Here is a great summary of what I learned…

“We have the idea that God rewards us for our faith, it may be so in the initial stages; but we do not earn anything by faith. Faith brings us into right relationship with God and gives God His opportunity. God has frequently to knock the bottom board out of your experience to get you into contact with Himself. God wants you to understand that it is a life of faith, not a life of sentimental enjoyment of His blessings. Your earlier life of faith was narrow and intense, settled around a little sun-spot of experience that had as much of sense as of faith in it, full of light and sweetness; then God withdrew His conscious blessings in order to teach you to walk by faith. You are worth far more to Him now than you were in your days of conscious delight and thrilling testimony. Faith by its very nature must be tried.” Oswald Chambers, My Utmost For His Highest.

I believed that God was rewarding my faith. God knocked the bottom board out of me in Texas by showing me He could care less about size and prestige, He wanted a deeper relationship with me. He wanted me to trust Him more, He wanted my faith to grow deeper, and He knew how to get my attention and grow these things in me. It was a very hard time, but I am so thankful now that He did. I have a depth of understanding now that I never had before about trusting God and about having Faith. I am worth more to Him now than I was before… and He finds all of us incredibly valuable, and has no problem leading any of us through similar times of difficulty to get us focused on Him.

I have learned so much in 730 days, so much more than I thought I ever could in such a short amount of time. I have learned so much about God, and have so much more to go. I have learned so much about me, and fear I have so much more to learn…. It is an interesting thing when you think about what God leads you through in such a short amount of time so that we learn more about Him and ourselves. He engineers all these circumstances in our lives for us, the good and the bad, to help us see Him more clearly…

My prayer for you, is that through whatever experiences God moves you through, that in the end you would have a deeper understanding of Him and that your Faith would be able to move mountains on the other side. No matter how many boards He breaks, find Him in it. No matter how many blessings He sends, find Him in it. He wants you, in all your brokenness and all your happiness… He wants you, and He has been seeking you every day of your life, and will continue to seek you, are you looking for Him in your day? He is there…

Leave a Reply

