Great! Shopping For Christmas (with heavy sarcasm)

Posted: December 14, 2007 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , , , ,

Today Trish and I are going to do our Christmas shopping.  I hate shopping, but we have a list, and I love lists!  So hopefully it will go okay.  We are at that place where shopping for our kids has gotten a little harder… they want things like laptops, iphones, and jewelry – like that’s going to happen!  Then you have the whole dilema of what do you get for each other?  My parents usually shop together, point out what they want, purchase it, then wrap it and put it under the tree.  Then on Christmas morning they act supprised when they open up their gifts!  I personally think that takes some of the fun out of the whole thing.  I try to go out of my way to supprise Trish, which is not always easy!  I’ll let you know how it goes.So what was the best surprise you did for your special someone on Christmas?  What are your gift giving traditions?  what about Christmas traditions?  what things do you do  that were passed down to you from your parents, what have you done to start a tradition with your family?  Don’t be shy – share with us! I was talking to my wife and kids last week about one of my favorite things as a kid at Christmas; My parents had a candle holder that was made of brass and had to be put together every year. It had a really cool fan on the top, and hanging off of it were angels that would clink off bells as they would begin to turn from the heat.  I got to put it all together, and it took a steady hand, and a lot of strategy to make sure it would work properly.  I may look for one today for our house, and may re-institute my love of a combination of burning stuff and mechanical engineering! 

Comments
  1. wineymomma says:

    My grandmother had the angel candle thing you were describing. I haven’t seen one of those in a really long time! If you find one let me know! I’d like tograb one too.

  2. we had that angel candle bell ringing thing growing up. it was misplaced at some point and my mom found a new one just a few years ago.

  3. Michael says:

    We had a tradition of burning stuff, too. Every Christmas when we to my grandmother’s house, she would have my brother, my sister, and me all draped in white sheets (held on with an old wooden clothes pin) and we had to hold candles. In her mind, we were the Christmas angels. That lasted several years until one year, right in the middle of one of Granddaddy’s long winded prayers, I smelled something funny just to my right. My sister’s hair had fallen into her candle while her head was bowed and it was on fire!

    No more candles for the kids after that.

  4. Graham says:

    That is AWESOME!!!! How fun, maybe I will institute this one (maybe with the LED candles instead of real flames though, I can totally see my blonde daughter in the same predicament!) … i would love to see my kids dressed up like angels, and take their pictures and bring them out later in the year at appropriatly timed embarassing moments! Do you have pictures of this blessed event? I would love to see them!

Leave a Reply

