Fast Forward; Making Sense of Life’s Timelines

Posted: January 7, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , ,

We had a plan in place and were working towards it one step at a time.  I was comfortable with the plan, and the timeline.  Essentially it involved me taking over the reigns of the church I serve as a pastor at in the middle of the summer.  This plan would give me time to lay some of the ground work for programs and systems that make churches work, and time to develop my own teaching and message preparation skills because I have never had to prep a message weekly in the past.  I was looking forward to the time when I would be able to shape the direction and culture of the church, but it was in the future, far enough away that I felt I would have plenty of time to prepare.  Then Max, the current senior pastor went to Texas for Christmas.

I knew Max had been talking to a women out there, a lot, and that his trip would put them together for their first date.  But I didn’t know that he would meet her on the Wednesday after Christmas, tell her he loved her on Thursday, and ask her to marry him on Saturday!  The are both in their 60’s, and have been widowed.  They both have roots in the small Texas town Max was visiting.  They have a ton of mutual friends, and now they have a wedding date!  Max doesn’t wait long for anything, and they will be married in early March.  Which means that yesterday Max announced his retirement for February 17th!  So I have to throw my timeline out the window! 

Now there is a new timeline.  One that is causing me to be quite nervous about the way things will go over the next few weeks.  A timeline that makes me step up to the plate much earlier than I had planned, but I am so excited I can’t contain myself!  I finally have the opportunity to put my creativity and innovation into this organization in a way that I hope will make a huge difference in people’s lives.  Max is a great guy, he has left an incredible legacy here, and I am so appreciative of all that he has done to lead this church to where it is today.  It is so cool to see how this is all working out for him, he has put in so many long hard hours in this place leading this church through incredible and difficult changes.  He lost his wife to a six-year battle of sickness that had them in the hospital several times a month.  He is one of those people that doesn’t make a lot of noise or complain a lot, but is a steady continuous positive person helping people make great sense of their lives.  It is really cool to see him go to a place he loves, finding a new love, and being able to spend the next part of his life enjoying all of God’s graciousness towards him.

My just over six-month time line has turned into an eight-week timeline!  Wow, I have a lot of work to do!  The next few weeks are going to be a whirlwind, but I am sure they will be a lot of fun.  How do you deal with timeline changes?

Comments
  1. wineymomma says:

    Time lines-huh, I had one of those not too long ago. Then God laughed and said, “Hold up there a little bit, missy!”

    I hope the rest of what he said (I couldn’t hear because I was fussing too loud) was, “I have a way better time line for you!”

    WM

  2. Chris says:

    Go Graham go!

    I don’t make sense of timelines like that – it seems like God’s up to something. Just roll with it. You’re going to be awesome.

    And if you ever need a guest speaker for your sabbatical, make sure to call me. (It would be helpful if the timing coincides with ski season(.

  3. Michael says:

    Sounds like my life in a nutshell. Michael makes a plan. God reminds Michael that He’s in charge. Will I ever learn?

  4. Graham says:

    I am glad to know I am not the only one!

  5. plans, schmans. we don’t need no stinkin’ plans.

Leave a Reply

