Come To My Rescue

Posted: January 22, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , , ,

My son went to a friend’s sleep over birthday party this weekend.  He had started to come down with a cough, but it wasn’t too bad, so we let him go.  Probably not the best thing for his cough; a bunch of 10 year old boys, a new Wii, and no sleep, but we let him go.  Apparently they were up way too late, or early in this case, but had fun.  He came home around 11:00, ate lunch and slept till 4.  When he awoke, his cough was much, much worse.  No surprise there. 

He went off to bed, but was coughing so badly that he couldn’t sleep.  So on his attempt to get a glass of water from the kitchen, I hijacked him and made him take some cough medicine.  (It was not  an easy feat…)  I know that the medicine will help, he was not so sure. 

Here is the point.  Often times I hear people think God is out to get them.  I have sometimes felt this way.  Like He is waiting around the corner to catch me messing up and just cant wait to punish me or discipline me.  It is an idea that couldn’t be further from the truth.  He does have high standards, but He is more concerned about our health than we think He is.  Over and over in the Bible God is referred to as “Father”.  Some of us cannot possibly relate to that because we don’t have dads, or the dads we had were mean or didn’t care about us.  But He does care, He is not mean.  He wants to catch you going for a glass of water in your brokenness, give you medicine, love on you and help you get some peaceful rest.  He wants to love you in amazing ways, and He wants the best for you, much better than you even want for yourself.  He sees straight into your heart, and loves you despite all the sickness in there… Thank God He does, I know I have some serious sick things inside of me.

He has made a way for us to have a relationship with Him; He has come to our rescue.  Not because we wanted Him to, but because He wanted to.  He knows how to spread generous grace, and it is available to us all, we get to decide if we want to take it or not.

 

Comments
  1. wineymomma says:

    I love it when people blame God.

    By my thinking God gave me free will so I could make choices and learn from them. Hard times give me strength to grow. Bad things that seem like I have no control over them are growth experiences.

    God loves me and wants what is best for me. He doesn’t set me up to fail. But He gives me the space I need to fall and get back up!

Leave a Reply

