Page 123 Meme

Posted: February 4, 2008 in Daily Blog

I have no idea what a Meme is, but Aaron over at Broken Pilgrim tagged me on this one.  I think it is a great idea, so yes friends, I am tagging several of you on my Blogroll for it as well…. Saddle Up Transplantingme, Wineymoma, PaperMirror – I know you don’t know me but my wife and I LOVE you and your wife’s blog! You too Wallbuilder, and Michael Musings!  I would tag my wife if she would ever start a blog!!!

Here is the deal…

Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more (no cheating!)

Find page 123

Find the first five sentences

Post the next three sentences

Tag five people

Okay, so my results… officially and embarrassingly the closest book to me is Black Beauty.  Those of you that don’t know, I office at home and share space with my kids.  This book is about 10 inches from where I am sitting, so in the spirit of the rules – I am not a rules guy so be sure I am breaking them in just a moment – here is the next three after the first five on page 123…

“Jerry had a cab of his own, and two horses, which he drove and attended to himself.  His other horse was a tall, white, rather large-boned animal, called Captain; he was old now, but when he was young he must have been splendid; he had still a proud way of holding his head and arching his neck;  (Jeeze!!! COULD THERE BE ANY MORE SEMICOLINS IN ONE SENTENCE!!!???!?!??)  in fact, he was a high-bred, fine-mannered, noble old horse, every inch of him.  He told me that in his early youth he went to the Crimean War; he belonged to an officer in the cavalry, and used to lead the regiment; I will tell more of that hereafter.”

That sucked!  So now the rule breaking…  I am a reader at heart, and believe readers are leaders; not in the way Paper Mirror does, but regardless I read a lot.  I have a couple books going now,  usually found right in my computer bag,  the one I am in the middle of right now is Jeanne Guyon’s Experiencing the Depths of Jesus Christ.  Here is what is on page 123 in this book…  “Are you new to Christ?  Go then, to your loving Father.  Speak to Him honestly in your own words.  No matter how crude and simple those words are, they are not crude and simple to Him.”  Implied; He wants to hear from you!

So there you go…  I can’t wait to see some of your results!

Comments
  1. Aaron G says:

    glad to see you got my tag. I didn’t know what a Meme was when I first started. Look it up on Wikipedia, its pretty interesting. Although the way that bloggers use it is slightly different than the actual definition

  2. okay, i’m gonna do this meme, but i get a bit of a cheat. right now, as i sit in the coffee shop, i have no books near me. not one. so, i’ll have to go home to do this… wonder where i should choose to sit down??

  3. Graham says:

    Aaron, thanks for including me, this is fun… here is the Wiki def of Meme

    A meme (pronounced /miːm/), as defined by memetic theory, constitutes a theoretical unit of cultural information, the building block of culture or cultural evolution which spreads through diffusion propagating from one mind to another analogously to the way in which a gene propagates from one organism to another as a unit of genetic information and of biological evolution.[1] Multiple memes may propagate as cooperative groups called memeplexes (meme complexes).

    and Transplantingme is a rules girl all the way; I cannot believe for a moment that she would even consider cheating on this!!! Of course Thai may be hard to type on an american computer if you could find a book in the coffee shop! Choose your seat wisely when you return or Black Beauty may not be the dumbest thing we have on this “Memeplexe!”

  4. well, you can be fairly certain it will be some exciting book about thailand or culture shock or something of that nature. it’s all we have about right now. unless i go sit in one of the kids’ rooms.

  5. wineymomma says:

    got your tag. I’ll post on it tomorrow as knitting has totally taken over my life!

Leave a Reply

