Flu Like Symptoms And A Sick Mom In The House

Posted: February 5, 2008 in Daily Blog

It happened.  That dreaded virus has struck our house.  Friday Trish started feeling badly.  She is a tough woman though, so I kinda blew it off.  By Saturday she had a full-blown case of the flu.  4 days later and she is still out of commission.  Let me just tell you how hard that is on the family!  It takes a super mom to do what she does, and I am no super mom.  I have been running the kids to and from school, packed school lunches, went to a conference with one of the kids teachers.  I have fetched medicine, Kleenex, filled the humidifier, made dinner, found the thermometer, fed the dogs… I even went GROCERY SHOPPING – something I never should do! 

Now the house is a wreck; I have done dishes like crazy, yet there is not an open space on our kitchen counters for another dirty dish.  The laundry is backing up – literally the downstairs couch is piled high with clean clothes that need to be folded and put away; but I have been doing it diligently…  There are homework papers all over the floor, shoes, backpacks, you name it.  It is a mess; please don’t stop by this week!

All I can say is all the times I have overlooked, neglected or underappreciated my wife’s contributions are coming back on me with a vengeance!  We made a deliberate choice to keep her home with the kids all these years; she doesn’t travel or spend time away from the home other than to go to a weekend conference or something; and I am spoiled.  I realized how much of a contribution she makes to our everyday lives this week, and am praying fervently that she gets better soon…  Otherwise I may need to bring in the snow shovel to clean up the house!  Next year I will be sure to get her a flu shot!  Thank God for great moms!

Nothing like a blog on how my wife’s flu is making my life hard!  Really the point is how much I love an appreciate her, and how it takes a little hardship to remind us how good we’ve got it!

Comments
  1. Graham says:

    Thank God there is a snow delay today, so we have an extra couple hours to get the kids to school. Mainly i need it to pack lunches, but I just looked up from writing and saw my youngest son eating breakfast – a popsicle! yeah I am a great parent!

  2. Trish prouty says:

    Don’t let him fool you, he has done a great job not only shopping, cooking handling problems at school, helping with homework and listening to his wife whine whine, whine…. It has been a long 4 days i think I am on the mend well at least i am up and showered Thank you honey! My best advice for everyone…. get the flu shot!!!!

  3. wineymomma says:

    I wondered why I kept seeing him driving to and from the school! And no Mama!!

    I think he was right in his last post-you should start a blog!

  4. Angie says:

    I’m glad to hear you are on the mend, Trish. Sorry you had to get sick so that Graham would remember how good he has it. (HA)

    I would read your blog 😉

  5. mike says:

    you know you can still get your flu shot a Walgreens (the pharmacy America trusts) for only 14.99. Thank God for Walgreens.

  6. wineymomma says:

    Previous comment may have been shameless self promotion!

    🙂

  7. walgreens – america’s pharmacy. what about thailand? where we have heard you can get most of your pharmaceutical needs over the counter.

    and trish, i would read your blog, too.

Leave a Reply

