Green Lights

Posted: February 11, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , ,

I hate stoplights.  I don’t know about you but for me there is nothing worse than trying to get somewhere and having to wait at stoplights for ever.  When we were in Dallas we got spoiled.  There are few stoplights in the areas we were, mostly highways and long stretches of fast moving roads.  Where there were stoplights they were timed and coordinated so you would get greens all the way.  That was good.  Even in the midst of heavy traffic it wasn’t too bad.  But Colorado Springs is really bad with stoplights.  They are everywhere – and they are usually red.  It makes the traffic here much worse than it really is, and it makes me crazy.  Anytime something should be moving and it is not I get crazy!  I have felt like I have been sitting at a red light on a couple issues, and now the lights have changed!

This weekend we had several green lights.  First, the church building project is about to get underway!  We are going to begin grading the building site so as the building plan gets approved by the city we can start construction right away.  That is huge for me!  I have been waiting and waiting for this thing to kick off and it is finally starting!  Thank God!

The second green light was just as big, but more personal… The church affirmed me as the new Senior Pastor in a unanimous vote yesterday.  I am excited and nervous, but I know this is exactly what I am supposed to be doing.  I ran from the idea of being a Senior Pastor for a long time, and it has finally caught up with me. I know there is a lot of learning to do, and that I will probably make a lot of mistakes along the way, but I am very excited to do it!

So now I have to run some papers down to the County Clerk’s office to keep the project moving forward, but keep your eyes on the “building project pages” and I will try to keep photos updated and all that for you all to watch along the way! 

Green lights are good, moving is definitely better than sitting still!

Comments
  1. wineymomma says:

    Big Huge Congratulations!!!!!!

  2. Angie says:

    Yes, congratulations !!!!

    I don’t miss those traffic lights, but I could do without der stau (traffic jam) on the autobahn.

  3. Michael says:

    Huge congrats from TX!

    BTW, could you explain to me how the traffic could be “worse than it really is”? Is that like being more pregnant than you look? 🙂

  4. mike says:

    what an awesome God we have. He has made you a Senior Pastor when you didn’t think you could. And everyone around you knew you could. I is an honor to call you my pastor, and friend and I thank God for it

  5. Graham says:

    Thank you all, i appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing God do great things!

Leave a Reply

