My Wild Weekend – Things Don’t Always Go As Planned

Posted: February 25, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , ,

My plans for the weekend changed drastically Friday night.  I had been feeling pretty good Friday morning so being the “gotta get it done” kind of guy I am, we filled our day with running errands that had been neglected for a couple weeks while Trish and I have both been sick.  It was a pretty full day, and by late afternoon I was pooped.  Trish has been feeling increasingly better and since she had been stuck in the house for weeks, she went over to her sister’s house after dinner.  I stayed home with one of the twins and we were watching TV.  Nothing good on as usual, so I found a repeat of America’s Funnies Videos, a favorite of mine and we began watching.  About five minutes into it a really funny video came on and I started laughing – hard.  Then I started coughing, then the next thing I know I am coming too feeling like I had no idea where I was.  I had passed out.  I had what we later discovered was a coughing syncope, you can flail around and it looks a lot like a seizure.  Nothing too bad, but until you know it is not a seizure it is a scary experience.  Especially to a 14 year old at home alone with an unconscious dad! 

After the “event” a good friend that is a nurse came by and took all my vitals (thanks Jackie!) and said I was probably fine.  So Saturday I sat around most of the day, trying to muster the strength to finish preparing the sermon I was to preach on Sunday.  A great friend brought enough lunch (thanks Amy!) that we had it for 2 days!  It was to be my first sermon as the new Senior Pastor of our church, so I was intently looking forward to delivering it.  After a couple of phone calls from my very concerned parents and still not feeling very well at all, we decided to go to the hospital to have things checked out.  After waiting almost 2 hours to be seen, they did an EEG, IV steroids and antibiotics, chest x-rays, and gave me a breathing treatment.  2 hours after that they sent me home, with an inhaler, more steroids, antibiotics and a painkiller to make me sleep.  The doctor also told me to take it easy… (how many times have I heard that recently!)  I called a friend to preach for me (thanks Henry!) because there was no way I was going to be able to do it.  I can’t tell you how hard that was!  

All this because of a silly virus that has been going around!  I can tell you again how lucky we are to be surrounded by great friends and family that have been so willing to jump in and help.  Having community like this makes all the difference in the world.  I can also tell you that when things don’t go the way I hope they do, and the plans change I can get really frustrated, it makes me have to rely even more on my trust in God, that He knows what He is doing even when I don’t.  I don’t understand why it happened this way, and I want to get better now!  I am sure patience is a virtue that I am lacking and I sure don’t want to spend a whole lot of time learning it!  I also know that God is right here with me through all of this, even when I cant sleep, cough so hard it hurts, and go stir crazy because I cant get anything done!

Comments
  1. i just finished reading trish’s email. wow, whatever is going around sounds awful. hope you make a very quick recovery. i know it must have been a bummer not to be able to preach your very first senior pastor sunday, but you’ll have many, many more.

    we’re praying for you guys.

  2. Michael says:

    Wow! I hope that you get better soon. I know it must’ve been hard to have to be absent on the first day, so to speak, but it sounds like you made the right decision.

  3. Chris says:

    I always knew you were a real “hack” of a pastor.

    Just kidding… I couldn’t resist. But I’m interested in knowing how the first sermon went.

  4. Angie says:

    It sounds awful. Hope you all get better soon.

Leave a Reply

