Priorities… When Family Has To Come First

Posted: February 28, 2008 in Daily Blog

I have a conflict this weekend – a dilemma that should not be that difficult to sort out, but I am an extremely loyal guy, and I have deep desires to do what I say I will do and not shirk responsibility.  I recently started an advisory board to help me make decisions and direct the church I serve at.  We all agreed to make the meetings a priority in our lives so that things don’t distract this team from working and moving forward.  We scheduled meetings on Sunday nights every three weeks.  The last meeting we had was three weeks ago, right before I got sick, but Trish was sick then.  (All of the month of February we have had someone really sick in the house)  So for this entire month our kids have been relegated to the house.  They have helped clean, cook, do laundry, and wait on their sick parents and have had great attitudes throughout the whole ordeal.  They have been troopers, and I am so appreciative!

Now the conflict… there is a concert coming to Colorado Springs called Winter Jam, it is cheap and there are about five artists coming that our kids love; it is scheduled at the same time this meeting is and I have to choose between my family and my job responsibilities.  (not many concerts come here) The guys that meet with me are all very busy and it is hard to arrange a time to get together.  My family needs to have some fun this weekend… I am stuck… I know the right thing to do, but I feel it sends a message to the guys involved that our agreement is not really that important. For some reason I have a really hard time with decisions like this.  I cannot imagine telling the kids that I cannot go, they would be heartbroken hearted, they would go and have fun, but I would miss out on so much.  The twins will be driving next year (with permits) and they all are growing up so fast!   This really shouldn’t be this hard, but not meeting with the guys would set us back another 3 weeks!

I will eventually do the right thing; canceling or rescheduling the meeting and going with the family to the concert, but it won’t be easy.  Darn that loyalty thing!

Comments
  1. Angie says:

    I feel for you. I put the same pressure on myself. GO, Have FUN. It sounds great. You’re right, your family needs this.

Leave a Reply

