5 A.M.? 6 A.M.? 6:30 A.M. – If I Have To

Posted: April 17, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , ,

In the past, I don’t know, maybe 6 years I have been an early riser.  I have learned that if I want to get some things done I have to do them first thing, even before the kids get up, so it was necessary to get up around 5 A.M.  I would make coffee, do some Bible Study, pray, and then work out.  Usually by the time I got back from my run the kids would be into their morning routine, and I could breeze in and help, maybe a little sweaty, but help non the less!  This was a fantastic routine, I would get ready as they were on their way to school and I could be at work by 8:00-8:30.  It was cool because when you develop this kind of discipline in your life, things get a little easier to maintain.  I would watch what I ate because I was working out and didn’t want to make thing harder on myself, I had a fresh mind from the exercise, a great time to learn as I listened to leadership podcasts as I worked out, I felt good about myself and liked being prepared for work and getting the jump on the day. 

 

Recently, well honestly since we moved back here from Texas, 5 A.M. wake up calls are non-existant.  I set my alarm, and every week day it goes off at 5, but guess what…  it gets promptly shut off.  The second alarm goes off at 6:30 A.M. and this one I HAVE to get up to otherwise I am the only one still in bed.  I hate being the only one in bed, it makes me feel lazy.  I get to help Trish with lunches and make coffee – sometimes I only make coffee, I call it the ministry of presence; I may only be sitting on the couch watching everyone get ready, but at least I am there!  Seriously sometimes I do help with lunches though!

 

I go to bed at the same time I used to, I have no reason not to get up… I just don’t!  It frustrates me because by the time the kids are off and I do my Bible study and take a shower I feel like I am late.  I don’t work out in the morning anymore because that would just take another hour of time and I already feel behind!  I keep telling myself I will do it in the evenings, but that never happens.  So I find myself in this inner battle, turmoil of the mind, spinning the thoughts over and over and around and around.  Am I suddenly lazy?  Am I undisciplined?  Am I just getting old and cant do what I used to?  Am I lacking the motivation?  What is it?  And when I am not working out I feel like, “what’s the point?” and I eat a cookie – or two.  It starts a downward spiral…  I have to break the cycle.  I need to get up early again… it may be hard but I will be so satisfied when I am back in that routine.  I will tell you how it goes, but next week – I am giving it another shot! 

 

What kinds of routines do you find yourself in?  Have you ever felt undisciplined if you fall out of the routine? What have you done to get back into the swing of things?

 

Comments
  1. routine? when the kids are in school i do have to be up so i can see them onto their songthaeuw at 6:45a. routing is huge, isn’t it? i think it’s safe to say it’s my biggest obstacle right now. there was a time, not too horribly long ago, when i got up early, worked out, and then went about my day. and it did feel good. but above and beyond the work out thing, it is nice to have a rhythm to my day. but right now, i’m just not motivated. and that’s such a lame excuse. especially when i know the benefits of routine.

    oh, wait. i have established one new routine. blog stalking you. 🙂

  2. Graham says:

    I know, Blogs have become part of mine too!!! more things taking time. But it is rewarding to be able to connect to so many every day through cyberspace! I like the term blog stalking! that is cool. why is it that we have such a hard time motivating ourselves to make choices that positively impact our lives? it is almost like someone or something doesnt want us too, but in our hearts we know we should…

    why do i keep doing the things i dont want and not doing the things i do want to?

  3. it is almost just like that…

    and i can’t take credit for “blog stalking” i got it from michael’s sister and her husband. i could be wrong, but i’m betting they didn’t originate it.

  4. PJ Griffith says:

    I do the 5 am thing. Only I am slacking on my exercise though. You have inspired me to get back into it.

  5. Graham says:

    that is great!!! comment next week and let me know how you are doing PJ! I will let you know how i am too.

  6. Angie says:

    Well, I was trying to figure out what to comment wondering if you really care what routines I have.
    I get up early every school day because I have to get the kids to the bus stop. This also includes my exercise because when I’m done walking back and forth 4 times, it’s 2 miles (one up hill). Most of the rest of my day is unstructured. “it is nice to have a rhythm to my day. but right now, i’m just not motivated.” This is me too. I do most of the things I need to or should just not always when I should.

Leave a Reply

