Blessed…??? Difficulties Precede Victories

Posted: June 16, 2008 in Daily Blog

I am blessed.  I had a great weekend hanging out with my family.  We celebrated Father’s day Saturday night because Father’s Day Sunday’s are usually hard to get a moment to ourselves.  My kids and wife spoiled me with my favorite shoes – Keen Hybrids.  They are like super sandals that are waterproof, have rock climbing tread, no laces, and are open so you don’t need socks.  I love them.  I don’t often use them to their potential, but they are antibacterial and antimicrobial so they don’t stink – that is really good let me tell you!  They are also washable and look nice too.  Keen Shoes rock!

 

Saturday was not without it’s difficulties.  Some issues that have been circling us for some time broke loose, and it was a really tough blow.  I don’t really know how to react at this point, but as I work through this issue I will share any insight and life lessons with you I can… I read another blog recently that was encouraging people in difficult places.  Basically they said that when it gets really, really tough for a Christian Leader, expect God to show up in miraculous ways.  Difficulties usually precede victories.  I hope so, because this one really hurt, and yet there is so much potential our families future and where God has us in life right now. 

 

This week I am volunteering in another church’s VBS.  It was where Trish and I started in ministry together, where God got a hold of our lives, and where our kids did most of their growing so far.  VBS is a week long, half day program that takes kids through different stations like; games, crafts, story time, singing, science, and everyone’s favorite – snacks!  Taylor and I are leading a small group, filled with rambunctious boys.  Trish and Alison are helping where ever they are needed and the younger two are in the program in groups.  It was so cool to hang out with these kids from all different places in life and do fun stuff.  I am blessed to be able to talk to them about their lives and how much they are loved by God.  It has been really good for my heart too… get out of your comfort zone, get out of your routine, all kinds of good things happen when you do. 

 

Unfortunately, by volunteering in the mornings, that leaves a lot of things to the afternoon… one of which is blogging, the other is preparing for this weeks sermon, so I have a lot of work to do in way less time!  I have to get to it, but it is a small price to pay for the dividends it provides to that church, those kids, and my heart.

 

See ya tomorrow 

Leave a Reply

