I Did It… Well Two things actually…

Posted: July 2, 2008 in Daily Blog

I am on the road to recovery.  Yesterday I saw the doctor.  I bit the bullet, and took the plunge, manned up, whatever you want to call it. I definitely have a secondary infection of the sinuses, and he gave me samples for the prescriptions – which is awesome so we don’t have to spend a bunch of money on them!  He was a great doctor, and the nurses were cool too.  I even got a shot in the butt, which I took like a man, as opposed to the child in me that wanted to run out of the room.  We definitely found our doctor’s office…  the one Trish has been going to is too big to get personal care, and that is why I think it has taken her so long to get well.  The big doctor’s offices seem to treat people’s ailments generically, if there is an outbreak of flu, everyone gets this particular medication, if it is allergy season, they get this …  you get the idea, and they have missed something in Trish’s healing process by not diagnosing the underlying problems.  So we are changing offices – a good thing I think.

 

 

I also did something else.  I signed up for a Facebook account.  I am learning more and more that community in the 2000’s doesn’t just happen face to face.  A lot of connections are made through blogs, Twitter, and social networks like Facebook.  I am plunging in, in favor of connection to as many of you as possible.  I don’t really know what I am doing though, so help me out!  Log on, get an account if you don’t have one, and let’s be friends.  It looks like a great way to stay connected with folks, and it is more personal than email or commenting on blogs.  Please continue to comment though; I love to hear what you are thinking.

 

So what are your plans for the 4th?  Some of you international readers are you taking the holiday overseas?  Those of you in the U.S. what do you traditionally do on the 4th of July? 

 

 

Comments
  1. good for you. love it when i can find a good doctor. in texas i managed to find an internal medicine doc, an ob/gyn and a pediatrician – all of whom i adored!! in co. i managed to find one of the three – and it didn’t last. i hate finding new doctors!

    from what i hear, this is the first year in like forever that the us consulate hear hasn’t had an all day 4th of july blowout! figures. but they are having something this evening (the 3rd) and we are planning to go to it. but other than that, no plans. the kids would be thrilled if we could get some good ol’ american hot dogs, but they don’t sell those here!!

    we will miss the fireworks in manitou this year! 😦

  2. Angie says:

    Sorry, I didn’t comment yet. We were off for a long weeekend over the fourth. We did get to see fireworks at an Air Force Recreational Center where we stayed and ventured out to see some beautiful sights. 🙂

    Glad to hear you are being taken care of, hope you are on the mend and stay that way!

  3. Angie says:

    BTW, it was sobering to see and hear people that were on a rotation from/to Iraq. Gave the whole holiday even more significance.

  4. drtombibey says:

    I hope you will check out my post on my old office.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

