And Today I Run!

Posted: July 7, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , ,

It has been over a month since I have worked out.  I have had some kind of allergy/sinus infection that has kept me from breathing and feeling well enough to work out.  I know the physical exercise helps me think better.  I don’t know why exactly, but when I am running or lifting it seems to give me mental energy, so I am looking forward to getting back on the treadmill today, right after this post.  It may not be for long, but any little bit at this point will bring me great joy, and probably sore legs. 

 

I am also reading a really good book right now.  It has been a long time since I have encountered something so compelling I have a hard time putting it down; I think the last time I read something like that it was “the Shack” which I think is a great book dealing with how crazy God is about us, and which also has gotten mixed reviews by people in the criticizing community, but if you want to stretch your thinking about God – and how can the human mind possibly represent God well – it is a great book.  It however is NOT the one I am reading now that I cannot put down.  The book I am reading now is on my 9th grade twin daughter’s summer reading list.  It is called “The Robe” and I believe it may be a classic.  It is by Lloyd C. Douglas, and it’s copyright date is 1942.  It is a great story of slavery, the Roman empire and Jewish life during and after the time of Jesus Christ.  The main character is the Roman soldier, a commanding officer, that won Jesus’ robe in a dice game during the crucifixion and how he and his Greek slave discovers who the man Jesus was through difficulties and learning the Jewish culture from a Roman’s perspective.  I thought the book would be something that was just okay summer reading but it has turned into a page turner!  I can hardly wait to read the next chapter – it has become my constant compainion, and I have to be sure I am not neglecting my family instead of burying my head in this book!  I have absolutely loved the surprise of how good this book is! 

 

When was the last time you had a surprise that was encouraging and uplifting?  What was the last great book you read?  Have you ever read a book that changed the way you live, if so what was it? 

Comments
  1. i love, love, love peace like a river by leif enger. michael never, ever, ever reads fiction and i got him to read it and he, too, loves, loves, loves it!! cuz it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

