Too Many Cooks (Bakers) In The Kitchen

Posted: July 9, 2008 in Daily Blog

Now that I am feeling (much) better, I am beginning to work out again.  I have been on the treadmill the past two days, starting slow but starting.  One day was running, one was walking and I am actually looking forward to running today – I use “running” loosely.

 

I feel like I am off to a good start, but I have a problem.  Actually I have a number of problems.  Two of my daughters love cooking and baking, and my wife is a great cook.  The kids make homemade double layered cakes, homemade sugar cookies, brownies, ginger bread, and to top it all of Trish makes these incredibly good apple dumplings (they are amazing, you have to try them!  I will put the recipe on this post.) So every night I have to fight off the desire to devour whatever treat they made that day; and on top of that I have to be prepared to hurt one of these precious bakers feelings.  Not an easy thing to do when one incredibly cute baker or another looks at me with the big brown (or blue) eyes and says, “please daddy!”  They are way past the “daddy” phase but they know how to push my buttons… so I inevitably give in. 

 

Which takes me back to my running… I wonder if I could do it twice a day!

 

What kinds of things do you have a hard time saying no to?

 

Here is the recipe: it sounds strange, but trust me these things are restaurant dessert good!

 

Mountain Dew Dumplings

 

 

2 cans crescent rolls

2 granny smith apples-8 slices each, peeled and cored

 2 sticks butter

2 c. sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

12 oz can of Mt Dew

 

Preheat the oven to 350. Wrap each apple slice in one triangle of dough, covering the entire slice. Line up in 9×13 pan.  Melt butter, sugar, and cinnamon together until it will pour evenly over the dumplings.  Then pour the Mt Dew around the edge of the pan (I think less than the whole can would be better but use your own judgment!)  Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.  Serve warm with vanilla ice cream!

Comments
  1. i don’t even want to hear about those dumplings!

  2. oh, and i can’t say no to banana puddin’ man, oh, man. but i don’t have to worry about that, because i can’t make it without an oven. way to go bringin’ me down like that!! thanks. 😀

Leave a Reply

