China: “Flawless In Image” Perfection Or Hypocrisy?

Posted: August 13, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags:

Have you every tried to put your best foot forward only to trip over it? It seems that is what is happening on the other side of the world. We have seen incredible showmanship, unbelievable buildings, competitors competing at an almost mechanical level, and to top it all off now, a little girl with a beautiful voice has a stand in with a beautiful face. Chinese officials say it was in their best interest to use a child “flawless in image” in the opening ceremonies of the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Unfortunately we are hearing again and again that in order for these games to be as spectacular as they are China took land from landowners, recruits 3 year olds for their gymnastics machine, left many jobless, and will kick anyone out that they consider a “dissenter.” Now I am no political expert on the affairs of running a superpower, I wont even pretend to understand all that China, or America for that matter, does in the way of governing its people. But…

This all just flies in the face of where I am finding my thoughts lately. People worldwide are so tired of the lies, the hypocrisy, the bullying. Especially in our personal lives… we work so hard to be “Flawless In Image,” yet every one of us has ugliness in our hearts and minds… We put our selves first, take advantage of situations, hold contempt in our hearts for others; that is the human condition. Why is it so hard for us to say, “Look, I am flawed, don’t expect perfection here!”? (I have no idea how to punctuate that sentence by the way; !”?)

Maybe if we started being real and admitting “I am flawed in image,” then we could help each other out with our shortcomings, encourage each other when we fail, and give each other the grace and mercy we need when we trip all over our best foot and prove how flawed we are. Maybe that is why I see life as a journey, sometimes I take the right turns, sometimes the wrong, but I am so thankful for people around me that show me grace when I fail, patience when I stumble, and help me up from my hypocritical disasters.

Leave a Reply

