Help Wanted: We Love New People

Posted: August 25, 2008 in Daily Blog

Our church is growing. It is fun to watch, and I am so thrilled! Every week for the past three we have had visitors show up. Several times they have cited this blog as being one of the reasons they felt comfortable enough to come. I want more and more people to be a part of what we are doing – church in a new way about 2 miles from one of the biggest most traditional churches in Colorado Springs. We are going to help people in the community with their problems. We don’t even know what all the problems are yet, but I know we can help. We want to help parents be better parents, help families to handle their finances better during this economic downturn, we want to partner with people overcoming addictions, we want to give their kids confidence and positive activities like hip-hop dance classes and maybe some kind of karate classes. We want to come alongside single mothers with practical help. We want to help people up and set things right. This world is a difficult and confusing place, and we believe that the hope we have is contagious, and that the God we serve has a deep interest for every person we come across…

We want your help to do this… we need your help. There are all kinds of ways you can help. You can join our group – you don’t even need “church” experience! I love it when people come that have no idea what to expect in church! We have had several people come that have no or little church background, and honestly I would much rather hang around with those of you that don’t have experience with church than the group down the street that has no idea of what life is like outside their church! And if you have church experience DON’T COME to our church UNLESS you want to be a part of meeting people where they are and helping them take the next step!

What if you don’t live in the Springs? How can you help? That is easy too. You may have a skill that makes the difference between our being an average ordinary organization and a world-class need meeting movement! We want to reach out to help people; maybe you can help us design a marketing campaign, helping us with our media – all types; print, video, web… we need help with it all! Maybe you know people that can give us insight or ideas on how to make a difference in single mother’s lives, what they most need, how can we make their lives a little easier! Maybe you can help me get my Mac to run my PC based Bible software so I can stop using two computers every week! Maybe you can use your interior decorating ability to help us create an atmosphere in our auditorium that is so cool all your friends want to come! Maybe you play an instrument and can be a part of our music team… maybe you know someone that can help with these things or others… Regardless, I want you to be a part of what we are doing. Even if it is just sharing your experiences or hopes of what church could be with me on line… don’t be shy!

What kind of church do you want to be a part of? What turns you off to church?

Comments
  1. Nick says:

    Graham

    What’s attractive to me about a church is a church that exists to serve God and not itself. I think the fact that you’re focused on others and not yourself (eves) speaks volumes to those looking for a place to plug in or just learn a little about God. Being focused and missional, and loving is so much more powerful than a marketing consultant and a new logo. I don’t know what I could do from sc, but if something comes up I could do, just let me know.

    nick

  2. leanne says:

    Graham, your such a great leader. You inspire me and I don’t even go to your church! I just love to hear your enthusiasm and passion. It’s so contagious. I listen to your ideas and have no dought that God is going to do awesome things through you.

  3. Graham says:

    Thank you to both Nick and Leanne! You guys are so encouraging!

  4. […] | I Really Want To Know! Published August 27, 2008 Daily Blog Earlier this week I blogged about wanting people to connect and be a part of our church. One of the blogs I read that started me […]

  5. Darlene Harris says:

    I was just checking your web-site as my husband & I are looking for a church close to home as we are in our 70’s. I am the founding director of Women of Courage, Inc. here in C/S (15 yrs old) We help low-income single moms become spiritually strong, emotionally healthy and financially self-sufficient. Your mention of concern for single moms caught my attention. We serve moms from churches all over the city and of various faiths. If I can be of any help to you in this arena I would count it a blessing. I sense your emphasis is young families so how would someone of our ages fit into your church? We will probably visit in the next few weeks, you are meeting right behind our house. May God bless you richly with his presence and leading. My work # is 548-4425 Mon-Thurs

Leave a Reply

