The Coffee Switch

Posted: September 8, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , ,

It happened this morning. It may be a temporary thing, like Indian Summer, but regardless it came way too early. Somewhere between spring and summer, I switch from hot to cold coffee. I LOVE iced coffee, but hate drinking cold coffee in winter; so when the days get warm, I make cold coffee. The switch back to hot happens about the time I think about turning the heat on in the house. Being cold early in the morning is one of the worst things I can think of, so the switch back to hot coffee happens about the time I have goose bumps after walking around the house in the pre-dawn hours waking up kids. That was today.

I can’t believe it – it feels like fall already has its grip on us. I expect this to be a cold long winter with the way things are going around here! I have no doubts that I will make a few more cold coffees, but for now the high temp is not going to get much above 60 degrees! Not too cold by Colorado standards, and they are expecting a warm up later this week (thank God, the wedding is outdoors) but I am not a cold weather fan and this seems WAY TOO EARLY!  I want more summer!

Okay, enough complaining, some of you are in summer up to your eyeballs, and I don’t miss the heat and humidity of Dallas, but a few more nice 80 degree Colorado days would very welcomed!

So, how much more summer do you have and what is your favorite coffee?  I want to know both!

My favorite coffee:  Iced Vente sugar free vanilla non-fat late.

Comments
  1. summer – it will never end. srsly. never, ever. but i have gotten used to drinking hot coffee in this heat. of course, i sip it and can spend all day on one cup. no more fancy tastin’ coffees for me. can’t do starbucks anymore, way too sweet. and about 3 times more expensive. favorite dirnks are lattes. iced or hot. if hot add some caramel and i’m good to go.

  2. I drink iced coffee almost every day in the summer, but the weather here in Iowa has been quite cool this past week so I am thinking the switch back to hot will be happening pronto! I also enjoy iced lattes.

  3. Angie says:

    Don’t do coffee, but tea is good hot or cold. Chai tea lattes..yum!
    This week is still in the 70’s. I’m hoping for that to stay, but of course we get rain (when the HUGE slugs come out) with that some days. The winter here wasn’t too bad as far as snow last year, only a couple times. I hope that’s all this year too. I can’t believe I can say well last year here….

  4. Michael says:

    You say you miss it here, but just think. You could still be playing golf and fishing in shorts. It’s still in the 90s here. I don’t think our highs are going to be in the 60s until sometime in November.

Leave a Reply

