Pray It Out

Posted: September 9, 2008 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , ,

Many years ago (about 10) I decided to stop playing games with God. I had tried over and over to follow my own agenda for my life, and it led to frustration time and time again. I had gone to church nearly all my life, and knew all the “right” things, but I had never really taken the plunge to “follow God.” One day a friend of mine had given me a workbook called “Experiencing God,” and I would sit on the floor in Jack’s room working in the book while he would fall asleep. (If you know anything about boys, you know that at two years old they do not want to go to sleep, so I would watch (threaten) him to be sure he stayed in his bed until he fell asleep.) The workbook challenged me in ways I had never been challenged before, and I began to pray differently.

I saw all these “Christians” around me living no differently than I was, there was no power or excitement in them. They were just as board with life as I was. There was no way I wanted to be part of a boring religion, or lead a boring life. So, I started praying prayers that asked God, if He cared, to let my life be adventurous for Him. If He was really interested in me, use me to do crazy extraordinary things. I didn’t want to get stuck in a routine, mundane, flat-lined life. If He was the God I read about in the Bible I saw Him take ordinary average guys and do CRAZY things in them and through them. That is what I wanted. That is what I prayed, and it has been an adventure ever since.

Sometimes we don’t pray big enough prayers. Sometimes we don’t pray at all. But I have learned over the years that God does care about me, He does care about you, and He wants to hear from us in prayer. Try it out. Start praying prayers that seem ridiculous to our human understanding. Open your heart, pull that dream back out, and put it on the table before God in prayer. Ask Him to do incredible things in your life. Tell Him your fears, your doubts, your insecurities and then spend some time talking to Him about your innermost dreams. The things that get you excited to live life again – the things that keep life from being boring. Put them in front of Him and watch as He begins to change you from the inside out into what He knows you are capable of and interested in becoming. It will not surprise Him, and most likely He created you with that deep hidden dream anyway. Then watch and see what happens.

Like I said, it has been about ten years, but I see God pushing me on this journey in crazy, exciting and adventurous ways! Ways I never thought would happen, and ways that scare the heck out of me at times! But I know He is here with me, waiting for me to pray it out with Him. Prayer does change things. He longs to hear from you, try it and see!

Leave a Reply

