Great Friend & Writer

Posted: November 3, 2008 in Daily Blog

I recently found out a really good friend of mine has begun a blog.  I love this guy, he is the kind of guy that when we get together we can talk for hours and hours about life, ministry and God, and he fills me up!  He is a really deep thinker with a vision to help others that is so big it will change the world, and yes, he is a “world changer!”  catch up with all his blogs here…

Recently he sent out a thought provoking post that said, “If one sets aside time for a business engagement…that time is accepted as inviolable. But if one says: I cannot come because that is my hour alone, one is considered rude, egotistical or strange. What a commentary on our civilization, when being alone is considered suspect; when one has to apologize for it, make excuses, hide the fact that one practices it–like a secret vice!  Anne Morrow Lindbergh, American Author”

I believe Anne is right, why is it that the time I schedule to reflect, pray and read, is the first time that goes when my week begins to fill?  Why do I hesitate to say “no” to things that may interefere with that time?  Yet when it comes to me being the best person I can be, these quiet and solitary times are where I get my confidence, my wisdom, my discernment.  It is the place I grow, find myself, my God, and my purposes.  It is where my creativity comes out, plans for the future, and mission develops.  It is the most important hour of my day.  Yet it is also the first cut when things get busy, because for some reason clinging to this time is considered selfish!

Fight for your hour alone.  it is worth way more than anything else you could fill it with!

Leave a Reply

