Painful Change

Posted: November 6, 2008 in Daily Blog

Yesterday I met with a mentor that is an incredible leader and has dealt with some of the most difficult things I can ever imagine going through. He has great leadership skills and I admire him for his straight talk. I am dealing with a couple delicate issues right now so running them by him seemed like a good use of the time. Usually I bring up a subject and he speaks to it, I soak it all in and walk away a better leader. Yesterday was no exception… although this time I walked away kicking myself…

One of the issues has been going on for a long time, I can’t go into specifics, but I have basically put it on a shelf to deal with later. I went into this meeting knowing what I needed to do, knowing what this mentor would say, and hoping that it wasn’t as big a deal as it is, and that he would reaffirm my decision to wait. He didn’t. Instead he challenged me to take action. He corrected me into being directive and passionately pursuing the future direction of our church. He reminded me how important it is, especially at this point in our development as a small growing church, not to settle or become content with something that is clearly not working the way it needs to. It smarted! But he is right and this is just the kind of shove I need to take action on something I have been hoping will just work itself out.

I knew all this in my heart, I had even have other people telling me to do something, but for some reason having this push come from someone like this mentor really puts a fire under my backside to take action.

Have you ever known you needed to do something but put it off because it was easier to ignore it hoping it would just go away? A friend once told me, “people don’t change until the pain of remaining the same outweighs the pain of change.” Sometimes you need people around you to remind you how painful the situation that you are in is, and how much better it will be when you do what needs to be done to correct it.

Comments
  1. you should wait. i’m an enabler and a nonconfronter.

    of course, i’m pretty sure my advice might not help with the whole church growing thing – so, you should most definately ignore me.

Leave a Reply

