It Was An Accident!

Posted: January 13, 2009 in Daily Blog

Our house sits at the top of a great sledding hill, it just has that natural “build up speed all the way down” slope to it. The street makes a hard right at the bottom of this hill and beyond that there is a walking path and water drainage canal. When the roads get slick, you can see where people have bounced their cars off the curb at the bottom of the hill.

Trish always gets really mad at me because I like to spin the tires on my car in the snow. It is rear wheel drive so it fish tails really easily. She thinks I am a terrible winter driver and reminds me of that often. So yesterday afternoon I was going to give a tour of the building to some of the school board members, and I started off down our slippery snow covered hill. I realized very quickly that it was more slippery than usual and began slowing down much earlier than I would have normally knowing on experience that I had plenty of room to stop. This time the roads were indeed MUCH worse than they have been before, and my car slid about three houses long straight for the curb! I did everything I could… I pumped the brakes, I turned the wheel this way and that, I hit the eject button – it didn’t work… and I watched as the curb was getting closer and closer and my car was going faster and faster!

I hit the curb pretty hard with the left front tire. Surprisingly it didn’t go flat, but the whole wheel is shoved back into the fender well. Something broke. The tow driver picked it up and it is at the shop now… but the whole time Trish was reminding me how bad a snow driver I am, and I kept saying… “It was an accident…”

We have had this car for a long, long time.  It is so old that a repair like this probably costs more than the car is worth, but it is paid for…  so we will see…

Comments
  1. monica says:

    poor car. wonder how many times Trish has had to bite her tongue and not say, “I told you so.”

  2. wineymomma says:

    If I have said it once I have said it a thousand times and written a post about it even….LOW GEARS in the snow please!

    Kidding…well, no, not about the low gears…just the mother tone!

    Glad you are ok!

Leave a Reply

