Get Out Of The Way: When Someone Else Can Do It Better

Posted: February 24, 2009 in Daily Blog

One of the problems with being a church planter is that you sometimes have to do everything when you start out.  If you are really good at everything, I guess that is okay, but if you are me, that can become a real problem!  I am currently in several situations where I am not the best person to handle a specific task or responsibility.  Stepping out in those weak areas is sometimes required, don’t get me wrong, but as the organization grows, the ownership of others into the success of the organization allows those that are talented in the areas I am not to step up, take leadership and make great things happen.  I am seeing that more and more now with the church plant we are involved in, and I am thrilled!  I am energized when I see others succeed, I love the ownership that occurs in them, and I (and others I am sure) am relieved that I can pass things off to those that can do a really good job rather than do a mediocre job of it myself!

I want to take a minute to thank all of you that are so willing to step in and make this church successful!  You are doing incredible things, and it is a huge relief to me!  You know who you are, so I won’t use your names here, but please know I appreciate you from the bottom of my heart!  Together we can make this a great church to be a part of, and continue to have an incredible impact in this community!  Thank you for putting yourselves out there, for your willingness to stretch and grow, and your stepping up to be used by God!  We are truly blessed to be surrounded by you all!  If you are reading this, are in the Colorado Springs area, and are looking to be a part of an amazing community doing amazing things in the community, please come join us!  We are only just getting started, but already we have seen God doing incredible things in us and through us!

I am more than willing to get out of the way, because I know together we can do this better than I can alone, and I absolutely love doing this with you!

sr_logo_5_color_print_nosbc

Comments
  1. nick says:

    “If you are really good at everything, I guess that is okay, but if you are me, that can become a real problem! I am currently in several situations where I am not the best person to handle a specific task or responsibility. ”

    I kind of feel that way about life in general

Leave a Reply

