Humility

Posted: May 6, 2009 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , , ,

One of the things that drives me crazy about God is that He is more concerned about my character than my comfort.  He teaches me hard lessons and points out the ugly parts of me that I could avoid looking into all my life.  Sometimes the way He does that is the least likely way I would do it if it was up to me…

Like Humility; doesn’t it seem like God uses the LAST PERSON IN THE WORLD you would use to teach yourself humility?  He chooses the one person that you want to keep at a distance to point out a problem, help you out of a difficult situation, or see you make a mistake.  Maybe that is the only way we can learn to be humble…  that drives me crazy.  You?

Comments
  1. Proverbs 23:23 – “Buy the truth, and do not sell it; get wisdom and instruction and understanding.”

    A good friend of mine once said that God sets up a little exchange booth where He sells the truth, but the cost is your own pride. I’ve also found that in order to get wisdom, that means that I am going to have to fail (in my pursuit for…whatever) in order for wisdom to be bestowed. Not real crazy about God’s economy in this either.

    The somewhat comforting thought is captured in this – Michaelangelo was once asked how he carved such magnificent statues. His reply, “I see the finished work in the stone, and I just chip away all of the pieces that aren’t necessary.” In Christ, we are complete (Colossians 2:10), so the rest of life then, is the process of God chipping away the pieces that aren’t necessary, in order for His light and life to shine more brightly through me. These people that you speak of are probably just “finishing blankets” or “sandpaper” used for His good purposes to continue to fashion you into the man He already sees you to be.

    Sounds good, but the process sucks sometimes – I’m still learning how to yield to it.

    Love you bro.
    Jason

    • Graham says:

      Yeah, sometimes the price is high, but the rewards will be worth it…

      Good to hear from you my friend, how are things in the great state of TX?

  2. Michael says:

    I love the first line. It should be in crossstitch hanging in Grandma’s kitchen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

