Running on iPhone

Posted: June 11, 2009 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , ,

I have been making a concerted effort to be in better shape lately.  Occasionally you may see a post here or on Twitter or Facebook about my progress as well.  Up until this week I have been inside on a treadmill.  That way I would know for sure how far, how long, how many calories burned, AND watch a TV show or movie on Hulu while I did it.  recently though several people encouraged me to get back to running outside, and so, reluctantly, I did.  I charted our my course using Google Maps and found a great trail nearby.  Then something happened that revolutionized the way I will be running from now on…

…Now my iPhone has an app called Runkeeper that tracks my run via GPS.  It tells me my real time speed, distance, average speed, AND will chart my course via a map with mileage markers and everything!  I used it for the first time today and am really excited to take my running back outside!  The iPhone is a little bulky for running, but having this kind of technology to help me improve is very exciting!  (for those of you that hate running it also tracks other sports as well, like skiing, bicycling, hiking, etc…)  Best of all it has a free lite version so you can try it out before you buy the full version that offers even more stuff!

I love my iPhone, and I love technology, but not more than I love my wife and kids ~ even if they tell you otherwise!

Comments
  1. Michael says:

    I use RunKeeper, too. I love it!

Leave a Reply

