Running, AKA “Pushing A Boulder Uphill On Wobbly Legs”

Posted: July 21, 2009 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , , , ,

imagesI didn’t realize how long it had been since my last run.  Not until I made it home (barely moving) and plugged the data from my iPhone into Runkeeper;  19 days.  Ouch.  Literally.  The last mile was like trying to push a boulder uphill on really wobbly legs…  not good.  But with the completion of the grueling battle of mind over legs came the satisfaction of achievement, stress reduction, and time well spent in my head.  It wasn’t pretty, no records were set, but the habit was re-established and I feel better.

You may think I am going to encourage you to get back to your abandoned workout routine, or start one if you don’t have one already, but no – I don’t care if you work out or not.  What I do care about is what you are going to do about your future.  So many of us have started out reading a Bible, or spending time praying and have gotten off track with it.  You may try to start but it feels like you are pushing a boulder uphill on wobbly legs.  I know the feeling!  Don’t stop though.  Those wobbly legs will get stronger.  Your body, mind and soul will get used to reaching out to God, and He will respond to your attempts.  Unlike working out, God meets you and helps you get there. Working out is all you, and sometimes a lonely struggle, but He develops you and mentors you.  He sends people into your life to help you with your questions and concerns.  Look around, He is there…  Trust me, I wouldn’t have made it here if He had not mentored, molded, grown, stretched and encouraged me.  And the results are definitely worth it.

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    I Love It!!! I’m so glad you’re back! I’ve sincerly missed your blogging messages. They always make me think!

Leave a Reply

