What If I Flip Flopped My Schedule?

Posted: August 19, 2009 in Daily Blog
Tags: , , ,

I remember when I started Middle School, decades ago, how difficult it was to have to go from class to class for the first time. Not only was it hard to find the next class, but then you had to go to your locker between classes, struggle to open it, partly because the combination was hard to remember, and partly because the halls were so crowded. And just when I thought I had it all figured out someone told me about the “flip-flop” schedule, (I thought they were lying to me at first, but it was in fact true). For two weeks you went to your classes normally, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8, but then the next two weeks they flip-flopped them around like this, 7,8,5,6,1,2,3,4! Then after those weeks were over, it started all over again! I still don’t understand why – but it made the whole “remember where you go next” nightmare last a whole lot longer!

All that to say, I used to get up early to have time in a quiet house. When the kids were younger they would sleep until 7 or 8, so I could get up, study and read, and then get ready for the day in peace. Not anymore! Now the kids all get up by 6 AM or earlier to get ready for their school day – some of them leave here at 7, so my quiet house is ablaze with curling irons, flat irons, steam irons, hair dryers and the inevitable, “has anyone seen my ______ (fill in the blank with any of the following: shoes, favorite shirt, hair brush, backpack, with all the flair and drama you can think of from a plethora of teenage complainers).

They are all in bed by 10 PM now, partly because they are exhausted, and partly because they are exhausting the adults in the house and are told to! So couple that with my insomnia of late, and I am contemplating a “flip-flop” of my own schedule. What if I did my studying, reading, blogging, et. al. at night after everyone went to bed? The house is once again quiet, I have time alone with my God and my thoughts, and I would just be staring at the ceiling kicking dogs off the bed anyway… We’ll see what happens. If these words get incoherent at some point you will know it didn’t work…

Maybe I will see you tomorrow night!? Same time (ish) same channel…

Comments
  1. so last year chandler’s schedule was a tumbling block schedule. 7 period 7 day block schedule. which meant the schedule only repeated itself once every 7 days. and i never understood it… this year, it’s still tumbling block, but its a 6 period 5 day tumble… which means every monday is the same schedule, every tuesday is the same schedule, but not the same as mondays, every wed is the same schedule, but not the same as the mon or tues… etc…

    still so confusing. and not at all what you were asking. if i tried to move everything to nighttime it just wouldn’t happen. too easy to put if off. (not that i’ve ever had a scheduled time, but i sure have meant to!) 🙂

  2. Kelly Lewis says:

    Love it! I used to stay up til about 2am just for my peace, quiet, calm, relax time. I absolutely loved it. It was the only time I got to myself. I could watch TV without any interuptions, drink some hot tea while it was still hot and not worry about the kids jumping on me and spilling it. I would even do my shopping at the 24 hour Walmart sometimes because it wasn’t as busy and even that was more relaxing (no kids). I looked forward to that time everyday and sometimes the thought of my alone time is what got me through the day. I was in a better mood because I had that time. We should all have some special alone time. It definately helps the sanity!

  3. Greg Underhill says:

    Well, it has been a few days since the schedule flop. I hope the end results are not reflective of the current loss of blogmmunications we are seeing. Come back Graham. We miss you.

Leave a Reply

