Connecting To People

Posted: October 5, 2009 in Daily Blog

Sunday we talked about how important it is not to become inwardly focused.  When we are satisfied and comfortable with having our group and we stop looking to connect to people outside our group.  This can be extremely dangerous for a church, and it also is somewhat selfish of us on a personal level.  So I am including tips to connect with others in this post as I shared with our people Sunday morning.  I would love to hear your stories of how you go out of your way to build relationships too…  (The inspiration for these suggestions came from David Foster’s blog, check it out! (his site is having some technical issues I am sure it will be back up soon))


You may need to:     Start something new


Start a new hobby

Take them to coffee

Join a club

Find a common interest

Take a class together


You may need to:    Ask a different question, like:

  1. What are you excited about today
  2. What are your concerns today
  3. What fills you with joy during the day
  4. What gives you energy to get out of bed in the morning
  5. Are you fulfilling your life’s calling


You may need to:   Do something about their pain…

  1. Depression
  2. Discouragement
  3. Difficult life situations
  4. Finances

    Comments
    1. Kelly Lewis says:

      Your right, we do tend to get too comfortable with our groups and get too lazy to reach out to others to build a new relationship or to start rebuilding an old one that fell apart. Instead of going day by day ignoring opportunities that God has put before us to reach out to others, we should make a stronger effort to reach out. Start by saying “hello” and see where it takes you.

      I recently made an effort to rebulid a relationship that had fallen apart. I will admit that it wasn’t easy. I told myself that I was going to start will hello and see what would happen. Weeks passed by and I still hadn’t said hello. With lots of prayer and the pressure finally off of me to “just do it”, a natural hello came pooring out of me. I realized that the pressure I put on myself stressed me out so bad that I chickened out every time I was presented with the opportunity. When I finally let it go, gave it to God, and waited for His help, it was so easy to do. That hello lead to some conversation and we are now on the road to rebuilding a realtionship. Like I said, it wasn’t easy and I know there will be struggles ahead. But all realtionships take work. In the end, I’m happy I reached out. I’d do it all over again, even if I had been rejected. This progress inspired me to reach out to others. I felt like I was on a roll and I was just going to go with it. I’ll admit that not everyone I reached out to responded in a positive way, but I’m proud of myself for trying and feel good about knowing that I planted the first seed of interest so that if or when the ones that rejected me are ready it’ll be a little easier. I’m not letting the rejection stop me. In fact, I’m going to reach out to a family member today that I haven’t spoken to in over 10 years. I’ve been thinking about reaching out to her for some time. I’ve gotten pressure from other family members to reach out, but I wasn’t ready. Now, after recently reaching out to others I feel more confident and ready to reach out to her. I feel like this could be a whole new beginning for me.

      So, my advice is when you are feeling comfortable in your groups, make an effort to say “hello” to someone new or to someone from your past. Don’t worry about what will happen after that, let God handle that. Just say “hello”. You never know where that “hello” will lead you.

      JUST SAY HELLO!

    2. Angie says:

      Move to Germany to a military community where everyone is always moving. There’s no time to get comfortable!

    3. i second angie! one of the good things about our move is that it has necessitated that i get out of my friend comfort zone.

    Leave a Reply

    