Charted

Posted: May 13, 2010 in Daily Blog

God charts the road you take.

I just read this – which shouldn’t sound like a big deal, except that I have read this before, several times.  The way I usually read it is this; For the Lord watches over the way of the righteous.

I guess this time it just stood out more because of the words used to show me the idea…  I never considered myself a “righteous” person, I am a pastor, but “righteous” is something I look at Billy Graham, or some Biblical Saint as being, I am just an ordinary average guy that makes mistakes every day!  If I am not a “righteous” person than the way I have been reading that idea for years basically meant that God watches over Billy Graham and Biblical Saints, but not me…  cause I don’t deserve His watchful care, not until I become more “righteous”.

But this time the idea that God charts the road I take changes the way I understand the idea.  He knows the path I take, He knows what lies in the darkness of the valley that threatens my accomplishment, He knows the skies above and when the sun shines on me or it rains (or lately snows), He knows when the passes are high, and when the plains are flat.  He knows, He charts it, He cares.  He is right there with me, in the midst of my un-righteousness, imperfection and failures.  I don’t have to be Billy Graham, or some Biblical Saint – I just have to be who He created me to be, and He is right here with me, charting the road I take.

I love it when something I have read again and again comes out in a new way and causes me to think about things differently…

Comments
  1. funny, there was a time when i would have put pastors and missionaries in the same category you put billy graham. i would have said that because of their calling they are more righteous than me. (i call it pastor on a pedastal syndrome. and i think it’s extremely dangerous to the body of Christ.) but now, i think that’s a lie from the pit. i think it limited how i could serve God. sort of, i’m not good enough, smart enough, or fill-in-the-blank enough for God to use. and possibly even a bit of God doesn’t like me enough to use me. i guess what i’m really trying to say is the what i understand about righteousness is that our faith in Christ makes us righteous.

    Philippians 3:9 (nkjv)
    “…not having my own righteousness, which is from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is from God by faith.”

    or if you prefer the message:
    “I didn’t want some petty, inferior brand of righteousness that comes from keeping a list of rules when I could get the robust kind that comes from trusting Christ—God’s righteousness.”

    oh, and good to see you blogging again.

    • Graham says:

      Your Right Monica, the righteousness we have does come from Christ, but I always feel like I have to earn it! I dont… its a free gift when I believe… we’ll see how the blogging goes – for now Im gonna try a couple times a week and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

