Cheating

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Daily Blog

I cheated last night.  I woke up feeling incredibly guilty.  So much so that I had to tell my wife first thing…

I cheated in my sleep.  I woke up this morning remembering the discretion so vividly that I had to come clean as quickly as possible, and confess to all of you too…  I am sure you are wondering what in the world happened, so here goes: I had a dream that I was at an all you can eat ice cream buffet.  I had several scoops of ice cream in a large bowl, and after every few bites I would go back to the buffet line to add more toppings… there was hot fudge, sprinkles, whip cream, and everything else you can imagine.  I would take a bite, then seeing an open spot in the bowl, I would head back to the buffet and add more chocolaty goodness – all along feeling more and more guilty for over indulgence.  I am definitely an emotional eater…

So as I was getting ready today I was thinking  about this dream, why I had it, and why I felt so badly about dreaming that I ate so much, and realized yesterday was an incredibly stressful day.  Stress is a trigger for my destructive self soothing behavior.   Nothing super difficult happened yesterday, but at the end of the day as I was processing it all I was reminded that a couple things that aren’t right can really mess up an organization our size.  A conflict here, avoidance there,  people being people, and I take it all to heart.  I hate it when people aren’t happy, when there is conflict, or when things aren’t making progress as quickly as I would like,  it can build up pressure in my heart that pushes hard on my stress button.  In the past I would eat to feel better but that is self destructive, so today I am writing to feel better and tomorrow I will run to feel better…

What are your stress triggers?   What positive ways to you handle your stress?

(Or if you aren’t comfortable sharing that, at least tell us what your favorite ice cream is!)

Leave a Reply

